HTML 5 and interfaces in 2013

Mobile application development in the browser

The realization of HTML 5 applications for mobile, on Firefox OS in particular becomes easier with the built-in application manager in Firefox 26 for desktop. We can manage projects on the computer and associate them with a mobile when it is connected to the computer. According to the documentation the actual device can be replaced by the Firefox OS mobile simulator.
The Application Manager provides direct access to this documentation.
December 11, 2013.

Firefox 23, the end of <blink>

Firefox was the last browser to support the flashing tag. With version 23, it's over. It is always possible, however, but I do not encourage it, to use the blink method of String.prototype or by CSS... Except in the case where one wants to achieve a special effect such as a flashing clock ... But then you must be able to control the time interval ...
The replacement code was given on Hacker News:

<style>
@keyframes blink {
0% { opacity:1; }
75% { opacity:1; }
76% { opacity:0; }
100% { opacity:0; }
}
blink {
text-decoration: inherit;
animation: blink 0.75s ease-in infinite alternate;
}
</style>

<blink>hello</blink>

But the most important change in this version is that the user can not disable JavaScript except through navigating in the list of internal variables with about: config.
HTML 5 range tag is implemented and social functions added to the browser.
August 7, 2013.

Firefox 22, closer to an operating system

The browser in its latest version is easier to use as a system for applications. With WebRTC, video conferencing becomes possible without additional tools. The other functions go in the same direction: Asm.js for almost native speed, WebGL for 3D, these technologies combined allow running next-generation games in the browser.
What's new in Firefox 22. List given by Mozilla.
June 26, 2013.

New look planned for Firefox 25

Firefox 25 prévu

The details of the changes is given on the Mozilla site. The top menu is moved to icons on the toolbar that shares space with the tabs.
The user has still the option to customize the interface and even back in part to the current interface if he prefers. There are actually many plugins that allow to modify the appearance of the interface and change the layout of its elements.
June 5, 2013.

Firefox 21, the first browser to talk about its health

On the Help menu, a new option appears in the latest version of the browser: the health check. This is a line graph showing the startup speed, the number of issues. This is new. This will be especially important if other browsers provide a similar graph but also provide awareness: The browser may show solutions to accelerate the start.
E4X, XML parser disappears from JavaScript, which makes sense since XML is outweighed by JSON in this environment.
The style scoped tag the restricts CSS attributes to the container. It is also implemented in Chrome.
May 15, 2013.

Firefox OS in Windows or Linux

With the Firefox OS simulator, available as a plugin for the browser, it is possible to run a mobile applications on the desktop. It is even possible to rotate the screen!
This is really the only free OS available to the extent that Android "has a cost" imposed by Microsoft and its pseudo-patents, WP too and iOS cost more than all the others.
It is also the only one who never suffer from fragmentation or limitations in updates, as it works on all devices (and even Windows now!).
May 3, 2013.

The 3D game engine Unreal Engine 3 in Firefox

Mozilla has teamed up with the game maker Epic 3D for porting its rendering engine in the Asm.js programming language. This subset of JavaScript is close to C and designed for speed, it allows applications to run nearly as fast as native code.
With the Unreal Engine, developers can now bring their games made ​​with it in Firefox. They will work on all OS. The beginning of the end for Windows at home?
Developers of V8, the JavaScript compiler of Chrome and Node.js, opened the discussion for the eventual implementation of Asm.js in V8 which would allow to have the same 3D games on any computer without even opening the browser (with Node).
The announcement.
March 27, 2013.

A new tool for each version

This is the trend of changes in Firefox browser. Version 19 release February 22, 2013 has a PDF reader stylish and practical. This will transform tablets in electronic document readers and ebooks replacement. Version 20 will have a new tool for download and future versions other tools again.
February 26, 2013.

Alcatel One

Firefox OS soon widely distributed

The mobile OS with HTML 5 interface found several manufacturers including Alcatel, LG, ZTE, Huwaei and 18 mobile operators ready to include it in their bids. Models currently presented such as Alcatel One, ZTE Open are equipped with a small screen but with all the functions of a smartphone. With prices below 100 €, these devices will democratize personal assistants and allow applications to reach a wide audience.
This applies to Europe and South America in the first place, North America will not be tartgeted until 2014.
Sony has also announced plans to sell mobile under Firefox OS in 2014.
February 25, 2013.

Firefox 18 introduces IonMonkey

This ionic monkey is a new JavaScript compiler which makes apps faster by 25%. We also see the beginning of the WebRTC support, an API for real-time communication with the server and therefore going beyond Ajax and WebSocket.
There are many algorithms to magnify an image without significant loss of quality, it is called super-resolution, but why not just use the browser? Firefox 18 proposes a new algorithm that is better then the bilinear interpolation, so you can load smaller images to save bandwidth.
Touch Event API standard is also supported with the version 18.
January 9, 2013.

© 2011-2013 Xul.fr

HTML 5 et les interfaces du Web en 2013

Développement d'applications mobiles dans le navigateur

La réalisation d'applications HTML 5 pour mobile, pour Firefox OS notamment, devient plus facile avec le gestionnaire d'applications intégré à Firefox 26 pour le bureau. On peut gérer des projets sur l'ordinateur et les associer à un mobile à condition qu'il soit connecté à l'ordinateur. Selon la documentation on peut remplacer le mobile par le simulateur Firefox OS.
Le gestionnaire d'application fournit un accès direct à cette documentation.
11 décembre 2013.

Firefox 23, la fin de <blink>

Firefox était le dernier navigateur à supporter la balise de clignotement. Avec la version 23, c'est fini. Il est toujours possible cependant, mais je ne l'encourage pas, de recourir à la méthode blink de String.prototype ou en CSS... Sauf dans le cas où l'on veut réaliser un effet spécial tel que le clignotement d'une horloge... Mais il faut alors contrôler l'intervalle de temps... Ce code de remplacement a été donné sur Hacker News:

<style>
@keyframes blink {
0% { opacity:1; }
75% { opacity:1; }
76% { opacity:0; }
100% { opacity:0; }
}
blink {
text-decoration: inherit;
animation: blink 0.75s ease-in infinite alternate;
}
</style>
<blink>hello</blink>

Mais le changement le plus important dans cette version est que l'utilisateur ne peut plus désactiver JavaScript, sauf à naviguer dans la liste des variables internes avec about:config. La balise HTML 5 range est implémentée et des fonctions sociales ajoutés au navigateur.
7 août 2013.

Firefox 22, plus proche d'un système d'exploitation

Le navigateur dans sa dernière version facilite l'utilisation comme système pour des applications. Avec WebRTC, la vidéoconférence devient possible sans outil additionnel. Les autres fonctions vont dans le même sense: Asm.js pour la vitesse presque native, WebGL pour la 3D, ces technologies combinées permettent même de faire fonctionner des jeux de nouvelle génération dans le navigateur. Ce qu'il y a de nouveau. Liste donnée par Mozilla. (Anglais). 26 juin 2013.

Nouveau look prévu pour Firefox 25

Firefox 25 prévu

Le détail des modification est donné sur le site de Mozilla. Le menu en haut de page est déplacé dans les icônes sur la barre d'outils qui partage l'espace avec les onglets.
L'utilisateur aura le choix de personnaliser l'interface et même revenir en partie à l'interface actuelle s'il la préfère. Il existe en fait de nombreux plugins qui permettent de modifier l'apparence de l'interface et de changer la disposition de ses éléments.
5 juin 2013.

Firefox 21, premier navigateur à parler de sa santé

Dans le menu Aide, une nouvelle option apparaît sur la dernière version du navigateur: le bilan de santé. Il s'agit d'un graphique en courbe montrant la vitesse de démarrage, le nombre de problèmes rencontrés. C'est inédit. Cela aura surtout une importance si d'autres navigateurs fournissent un graphe similaire mais c'est aussi une prise de conscience: le navigateur présente des solutions pour accélérer le démarrage.
E4X, le parseur XML disparait de JavaScript, ce qui est logique puisque JSON l'emporte sur XML dans cet environnement.
La balise de style scoped restreint les attributs CSS au conteneur. C'est aussi implémenté dans Chrome.
15 mai 2013.

Firefox OS dans Windows ou Linux

Grâce au simulateur Firefox OS, offert sous forme de plugin pour le navigateur, il est possible de faire tourner une applications pour mobile sur le bureau.
Il est même possible d'effectuer une rotation de l'écran!
C'est le seul OS disponible vraiment gratuit dans la mesure où Android "a un coût", imposé par Microsoft et ses pseudo-brevets, WP a un coût et iOS plus que tous les autres encore.
C'est aussi le seul qui ne souffrira jamais de fragmentation ni de limitations dans les mises à jours, puisqu'il fonctionne sur tous les appareils (et même sur Windows maintenant!).
3 mai 2013.

Le moteur de jeux 3D Unreal Engine 3 dans Firefox

Mozilla s'est associé avec le réalisateur de jeux 3D Epic pour le portage de son moteur de rendu dans le langage de programmation Asm.js. Ce sous-ensemble de JavaScript est proche de C et conçu pour la vitesse, il permet de faire tourner les applications quasiment aussi vite que le code natif.
Disposant du moteur Unreal, les développeurs peuvent maintenant porter les jeux réalisés avec celui-ci sous Firefox. Ils fonctionneront sous tous les OS. Le début de la fin pour Windows à la maison?
Les développeurs de V8, le compilateur JavaScript de Chrome et Node.js, ont ouvert la discussion pour l'implémentation éventuelle d'Asm.js dans V8 ce qui permettrait d'avoir les mêmes jeux 3D sur tout ordinateur sans même ouvrir le navigateur (avec Node).
L'annonce.
27 mars 2013.

Un nouvel outil pour chaque version

C'est la tendance des évolutions de Firefox, le navigateur. La version 19 sortie le 22 février 2013 est dotée d'un lecteur PDF élégant et pratique. Cela permettra de transformer les tablettes en lecteurs de documents électronique en remplacement des ebooks. La version 20 quand a elle disposera d'un nouvel outil de téléchargement et les versions suivante de nouveaux outils encore.
26 février 2013.

Alcatel One

Firefox OS bientôt largement distribué

L'OS mobile à interface HTML 5 a trouvé plusieurs fabricants dont Alcatel, LG, ZTE, Huwaei et 18 opérateurs mobiles prêt à l'inclure dans leurs offres. Les modèles actuellement présentés tels que l'Alcatel One, le ZTE Open sont des appareils économiques dotés d'un écran réduit mais avec toutes les fonctions d'un smartphone. Avec des prix inférieurs à 100 €, ces appareils vont démocratiser les assistants personnels et permettre à des applications de toucher un public très large.
Cela concerne l'Europe et l'Amérique du Sud dans un premier temps, l'Amérique du Nord ne sera pas ciblée avant 2014.
Sony a par ailleurs annoncé vouloir aussi vendre des mobiles sous Firefox OS en 2014.
25 février 2013.

Firefox 18 introduit IonMonkey

Ce singe ionique est un nouveau compilateur JavaScript qui rend les applications plus rapides de 25%. On voit aussi apparaître le début du support de WebRTC, une API pour communiquer en temps réel avec le serveur et qui va donc bien au-delà d'Ajax et de WebSocket.
Il existe de nombreux algorithmes pour agrandir une image sans perte notable de qualité, c'est ce qu'on appelle la super-résolution, mais pourquoi ne pas simplement utiliser le navigateur? Firefox 18 propose un nouvel algorithme plus efficace que l'interpolation bilinéaire, ainsi on peut charger des images réduites pour économiser la bande passante.
L'API standard Touch Event est aussi supportée avec la version 18.
9 janvier 2013.

© 2011-2012 Xul.fr